If a resident in Mississippi needs access to a large amount of money in a short amount of time, they may be thinking about obtaining a car title loan. Car title loans are available for residents- which is good news for people who need funding. For those wanting a car title loan, it is helpful to know what documents they need, how the process works, and where to find lenders in Mississippi.
What Do I Need to Apply for a Car Title Loan in Mississippi?
To obtain a car title loan in the state of Mississippi, a person will need the following:
- A government-issued photo I.D.
- Proof of both income and residence
- A title to a qualifying vehicle in your name
- Pictures of your vehicle
How Do Car Title Loans Work in Mississippi?
The rules and regulations around car title loans vary from state to state and Mississippi is no exception to that. Here are a few unique rules that encompass car title loans in a handful of states, and in the state of Mississippi:
A Cap for Interest on Car Title Loans in Mississippi
There are few states that allow a car title loan lender to charge as much interest as they see fit. Mississippi is not one of them. There is an interest cap of 300% of the amount being borrowed, which despite being higher in other states, is still a very high amount.
As a borrower, it is vital to keep interest in mind when looking at lenders, and before signing anything.
A Cap on the Car Title Loan Amount in Mississippi
For many people, a car title loan is pursued for the reason of obtaining quick emergency money. In many states, including Mississippi, there is a maximum amount of money a lender can give. The maximum amount that a borrower may obtain with a car title loan in Mississippi is $2,500.
Individuals who pursued a car title loan with the hope of obtaining a sizable loan amount may want to supplement this type of loan.
No Rollovers on Car Title Loans in Mississippi
A rollover in the title loan industry is when a lender allows for an extension of the payment date- for a fee plus interest. In Mississippi, this privilege is not permitted by lending laws. Before taking out a loan in the state of Mississippi, it is important to review the monthly payment and interest.
Repossession Laws on Car Title Loans in Mississippi
No matter what state a person obtains a title loan in, if the loan defaults, or if the contract is broken, the lender has the right to repossess the vehicle. The only aspect that differs from state to state is the repossession process that both lenders and borrowers go through.
In Mississippi, as soon as a loan defaults, borrowers have 30 days to catch up. Once those 30 days are over, lenders have the right to repossess the vehicle without notice. Once they have the vehicle, they will send a notice to the borrower stating they have three days to make the payment.
The notice will also have information regarding a potential sale of the vehicle if the payment is not made.
In Mississippi, if lenders sell a vehicle and there is still an outstanding balance, the lender cannot bill the borrower for the remaining balance.
Where Can I Obtain a Car Title Loan in Mississippi?
There are many car title loan lenders in Mississippi, and it may be difficult to pick between them all. Max Cash Title Loans is a free service that connects customers with reliable title loan lenders across the US, including the state of Mississippi.
To get started with us, contact our loan processing team via phone 855-561-5626 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If a resident of Mississippi is looking to obtain a car title loan in their state, they may be wonder what they need and how the process works. Additionally, it may be helpful to know about the different title loan laws regarding Mississippi lending.
There are several lenders in Mississippi, and before choosing one it is important to look at the lender’s reputability and the details of their contract.